Hon. J. W. Gwynne, and Hon. Thomas Galt. Clerk of the Crown and Pleas for the Common Pleas-Monsell B. Jackson, Esq. Senior Clerk and Taxing Officer-S. B. Clark. Junior or Docketing Clerk-B T. Jackson. Crier and Usher-P. Connell.

COURT OF CHANCERY.

This Court has the like jurisdiction as the Court of Chancery in England, in cases of fraud, accident, trusts, executors, administrators, co-partnerships, accounts, mortgages, awards, dower, infants, idiots, lunatics and their estates, waste, specific performances, discovery, and to prevent multiplicity of suits, staying proceedings at law prosecuted against equity and good conscience, and may decree the issue, repeal or avoidance of letters patent, and generally the like powers which the Court of Chancery in England possesses to administer justice in all cases in which there is no adequate remedy at law. Chancellors—Hon. John G. Spragge. Vice-Chancellors—Hon. S. H. Blake, Hon. W. Proudfoot. Referee in Chambers and Referee of Titles—R. P. Stephens. Clerk in Chambers—Fulford Arnoldi. Registrars—G. S. Holmstead. Deputy Registrars—A. F. McLean, G. M. Lee. Docketing Clerk—W. D. Crofton. Clerk of Records and Writs—A. Holmstead. Asst. Clerk—J. H. Beaven. Entering Clerk—G. W. Keegan. Special Examiners—John Crickmore, Barrister; J. Hutcheson Eston, Barrister, and G. W. Evans. Usher—R. Parkes. Taxing Officer Vans. Clerk—J. P. Macdonell. Juntor Clerk—B. M. Ross.

Master in Ordinary—T. W. Taylor, M. A. Local Masters and Deputy Registrars: Algoma—Hon. W McCrea. Barrie—J. R. Cotter. Belleville—S. S. Lazier. Berlin—Judge Lacourse. Brampton—A. F. Scott. Brantford—S. J. Jones. Brockville—Jacob Dockstader Buell. Chatham—R. O'Hara. Cobourg and Peterboro—Wm. H. Weller. Cornwall—J. F. Pringle. Goderich—H. McDermott. Guelph—James W. Hall. Hamilton—M. O'Reilly, Q. C. Kingston—James A. Henderson. D.C.L. Lindsay—Judge Dean. London—James Shanley. L'Orignal—Judge Daniell. Mitton—J. Miller. Napanee—S. S. Lazier. Niagara—J. A. Woodruft. Ottawa—W. M. Matheson. Owen Sound—J. Mason. Perth—Judge Senkler. Picton—S. S. Lazier. Simcoe—O C. Rapelje. Sandwich—Samuel S. Macdonnell, L. L. D. Sarnia—P. T. Poussett. Simcee—C. C. Rapalje. St. Catharines—F. W. Macdonald. St. Thomas—James Shanley. Stratford—Judge Lizars. Sault Ste. Marie, Algoma—Hon. W. McCrea. Walkerton—Wm. Allan McLean. Whitby—George H. Dartnell. Woodstock—H. B. Beard. Pembroke—T. Deacon. Accountant—R. P. Stephens. Accountant's Clerk—B. W. Murray.

COURT OF ERROR AND APPEAL.

Terms of the Court.—This court holds its sittings on the 15th days of March, June, September and December, and it may adjourn such sitting from day to day, or for any such longer period as it may deem expedient, and may also appoint days for giving judgment or for disposing of business as in its discretion it shall see fit.

LAW TERMS.

Hilary begins first Monday in February and ends Saturday of the ensuing week; Easter begins 3rd Monday in March, and ends Saturday of the second week thereafter; Trinity begins first Monday after 21st August, and ends Saturday of the following week; Michaelmas begins third Monday in November and ends Saturday of the second week thereafter. The Administration of Justice Act, 38 Vic., c. 8. and the amendment to that Act 37 Vic., c. 7 direct the Courts of Queen's Bench and Common Pleas to hold sittings in time of vacation (except long vacation, to appoint a single judge to sit once a week in and out of term to hear certain business named in the statutes.

CHANCERY TERMS

Re-Hearing Terms.—Third Tuesday in February, last Thursday in August, and first Thursday in December. The court also sits every Tuesday (except during the regular vacation) throughout the year for hearing motions; on Wednesday for hearing pro confesso on bill and answer, motions for decree, further directions, petitions, demurrers; and on Thursday, for Appeal from Masters' Reports.

LONG VACATION.

Extends from the 1st July to the 21st of August.

COUNTY COURT TERMS.

The several County Courts in Ontario hold semi-annually terms, to commence on the first Monday in January and July, and end the following Saturday, except county court of the county of York, which holds three terms, to commence respectively, on the first Monday in January and April, and the last Monday in August and ending on the Saturday of the same week.

LAW CIRCUITS.

Circuits of the Courts.—Courts of Assize and Nisi Prius and of Oyer and Terminer and General Gaol Delivery, shall be held twice a year in each county or union of counties, in the vacation between Hilary and Easter Terms, and in the vacation between Trinity and Michaelmas Terms, except in the county of York in which county there shall be a third such court in every year, between Easter Term and the first of July, and fourth in the vacation between Michaelmas and Hilary Terms; and in the county of Wentworth, in which there shall be a third such court, in the vacation between Michaelmas and Hilary Terms. There are eight circuits as follows: The Eastern—Cornwall, L'Original, Ottawa, Pembroke, Perth. Midland—Belleville, Brockville, Kingston, Napanee, Picton. Victoria—Hampton, Whitby, Cobourg, Lindsay, Peterboro. Brock—Owen Sound, Stratford, Woodstock, Walkerton, Goderich. Niagara—Hamilton, Milton, St. Catharines, Welland, Cayuga. Water-too—Barrie, Berlin, Guelph, Stratford, Simcoe. Western—Chatham, London, Sandwich, Sarnia, St. Thomas. Home—Toronto.